Royal audience to new ambassadors
By Sonia K

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam yesterday consented to receive credentials from four newly-appointed ambassadors, Mr Tamas Magda of Hungary, Mr Christiaan Cornelis Sanders of the Netherlands, Mr Hamza Yahia-Cherif of Algeria, and Mr Petru Petra of Romania.

Mr Magda and Mr Sanders are based in Singapore, while Mr Hamza in Jakarta, Indonesia and Mr Petra in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

After receiving their credentials, the monarch then consented to receive in audience the four envoys at Istana Nurul Iman.

Earlier, His Royal Highness Prince Mohamed Bolkiah, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, received in audience the ambassadors at Balai Penghadapan, Bukit Kayangan during which they discussed bilateral matters.

Hungarian Ambassador Mr Tamas Magda joined the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Hungary in 1994 and became a diplomat in charge of European Union affairs at the Hungarian Embassy in London, United Kingdom from 1997 to 2002. In 2005, he was made Ambassador of Hungary to Singapore.

Dutch Ambassador Mr Christiaan Cornelis Sanders was Ambassador of the Netherlands to Muscat, Oman from 1991 to 1995. Between 1999 and 2005, he was Ambassador of Permanent Representatives of the Netherlands to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, Switzerland. In 2005, he became Ambassador of the Netherlands to Singapore.

Algerian Ambassador Mr Hamza Yahia-Cherif was posted to Indonesia in January 2005. In October 2005, he became Ambassador of Algeria to Singapore while still residing in Jakarta.

Romanian Ambassador Mr Petru Petra joined the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Relations Division in Romania in June 1990, and was First Secretary at the Embassy of Romania in Thailand from July 1993 to July 1997. Between August 1999 and November 2003, he was Ambassador to India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Between April 2004 and September 2006, he was appointed Minister Counsellor at the Romanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs before becoming Ambassador to Malaysia and Brunei Darussalam in September 2006. (8th February 2007)