Sultan presents letters of appointment to new Commissioners of Courts
By Azrol Azmi

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam yesterday consented to preside over the swearing-in ceremony of the Commissioner of the Court of Appeal and the Commissioner of the Supreme Court.

The ceremony took place at the Istana Nurul Iman.

Also in attendance were His Royal Highness Prince Mohamed Bolkiah and His Royal Highness Prince Sufri Bolkiah.

YB Dato Seri Paduka Awg Hj Kifrawi, Sir Noel Plunkett Power, Lady Mayora Power, Dato Seri Paduka Mohammed Saied, John Barry Mortimer, Thea Marcaret Davies and Hairolarni bin Hj Abd Majid were also present at the ceremony.

The letters of appointment were read by the Grand Chamberlain, Yang Amat Mulia Pengiran Penggawa Laila Bentara Istiadat Diraja Dalam Istana Pengiran Hj Alauddin

First to be sworn in was the new Commissioner of the Court of Appeal, the Honourable Geoffrey Lance Davies.

Previously, he was appointed as an officer of the Order of Australia for service to the judiciary and to the legal profession, particularly in the area of reform.

He has an honorary doctorate from the QUT University for services to the law, law reform and legal education. He is also an honorary life-time member of the Australian Institute of Judicial Administration for services to law reform and legal education.

Next to be sworn in was the Commissioner of the Supreme Court, Mr Gareth John Lugar-Mawson.

Born on December 13, 1948 in Doncaster, England, Mr Lugar-Mawson's career details dated back to 1981, mostly in Hong Kong. His experience extended from Barrister of the Middle Temple in England to Barrister of the High Court in Hong Kong.

He was also a solicitor, a Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court in Hong Kong, as well as a former Chairman of the Insider Dealing Tribunal of Hong Kong and former Chairman of the Market Misconduct Tribunal of Hong Kong. - Borneo Bulletin (2nd Nov 2007)