Brunei capital to become nearly ten times bigger
By Za'im Zaini & Sonia K

Residents of the Brunei-Muara District feted His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam with fanfare as the "Bersama Rakyat", which began in Temburong last week, culminated in the nation's capital, which has been expanded to nearly 10 times its size.

His Majesty yesterday consented for the expansion of the Bandar Seri Begawan (BSB) municipal area from its present 1,287 hectares or 12.87 km to 10,036.24 hectares or 100.36 km effective August 1.

The expansion is in line with the nation's rapid development with various infrastructure with the purpose to augment the beauty, development, and a better managed and equipped administration.

The move is also aimed at making Bandar Seri Begawan as a competitive and developed administration, commercial and business centre that holds its uniqueness as well as its heritage.

The expanded Bandar Seri Begawan will encompass more villages and mukims.

They are: Mukim Kianggeh including Kg Kianggeh, Berangan, Jalan Tasek Lama, Mabohai/Tungkadeh, Melabau, Kumbang Pasang, Padang Baru, Pusar Ulak and Tumasek;

Mukim Gadong including Kiulap, Kiarong, Menglait, Batu Bersurat/ Pengkalan Gadong Mata Mata (which does not include Perpindahan Mata-Mata or Mata-Mata housing scheme) and Beribi;

Mukim Kilanas including Madewa, Tasek Meradun, Bunut and Perpindahan Bunut;

Mukim Berakas 'A' including Pulaie, Anggerek Desa, Pancha Delima, Orang Kaya Besar Imas, Delima Satu, Serusop, Jaya Setia, Jaya Bakti and Burong Pinggai Berakas;

Mukim Berakas 'B' including Manggis I, Manggis II, Madang, Sungai Akar and the area of the Berakas International Airport;

Mukim Kota Batu including Sungai Lampai/Pintu Malim, Kota Batu, Pelambayan, Subok and Belimbing.

Also, areas in Kg Ayer will also come inside the Bandar Seri Begawan expansion.

They are: Mukim Sungai Kedayan including Bukit Salat, Sumbiling Lama, Sungai Kedayan 'A', Sungai Kedayan 'B', Ujong Tanjong and Kuala Peminyak;

Mukim Tamoi including Tamoi Ujong, Tamoi Tengah, Pengiran Kerma Indera Lama, Pengiran Tajuddin Hitam, Ujong Bukit/Limbongan, Pengiran Bendahara Lama;

Mukim Burong Pingai Ayer including Burong Pingai Ayer, Lurong Dalam, Pandai Besi 'A', Pandai Besi 'B', Sungai Pandan 'A', Sungai Pandan 'B', and Pengiran Setia Negara, Pekan Lama;

Mukim Peramu including Peramu, Pekilong Muara, Bakut Pengiran Siraja Muda ' A', Bakut Pengiran Siraja Muda 'B', Bakut Berumput and Lurong Sikuna;

Mukim Saba including Saba Tengah, Saba Ujong, Saba Laut, Saba Darat 'A' and Saba Darat 'B'.

Mukim Sungai Kebun including Setia 'A', Sungai Siamas/Ujong Klinik, Setia 'B' Sungai Kebun, Bolkiah 'A' and Bolkiah 'B'. - Borneo Bulletin (23rd July 2007)