Prince Honorary medals awarded
By Za'im Zaini

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam has consented to award honorary medals of Brunei Darussalam to 542 recipients in conjunction with His Majesty's 60th birthday anniversary.

His Majesty was represented at the ceremony by His Royal Highness Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah, the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office.

The ceremony took place at The Balai Singgah Sana Indera Kenchana at Istana Nurul Iman yesterday.

Leading the list of awardees were Pehin Dato Paduka Haji Awang Hurairah bin Pehin Dato Haji Awang Mohd Taha, Pehin Dato Paduka Haji Awang Mohd Tahir bin Metassan and Corporal Pengiran Abd Mokmin Bin Pengiran Abd Rahman, who received the Pingat Bakti Laila Iklas, (PBLI).

Ninety-two persons led by Dato Paduka Dr Haji Mat Suny Bin Haji Mohd Hussein, Deputy Minister of Development, received the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian, PJK or Meritorious Medal.

Three hundred and three persons received the Pingat Indah Kerja Baik or PIKB. Among the prominent figures receiving the medal was Pengiran Anak Haji Mohammad Al-Mokhtar bin Pengiran Lela Cheteria Sahibun Najabah Pengiran Anak Haji Abdul Aziz.

One hundred and forty four were awarded with the Pingat Kerja Lama (PKL) or Long Service Medals, including Justice Dato Paduka Awang Steven Chong Wan Oon, Dato Paduka Awang Haji Ali Apong, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Finance and Awang Sa Bali bin Abas, Director of Management Services Department.

Among the medal recipients were government servants from ministries and departments and members of uniformed establishments.

The criteria for receiving the medals includes undivided loyalty to His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, the nation and religion. Recipients also should maintain good records in all services with His Majesty's government and national security and having good conduct.

Present at the ceremony were yang amat mulia pengiran-pengiran cheteria, cabinet ministers, members of councils, deputy ministers and pehin-pehin manteri. Also present were ambassadors, high commissioners, permanent secretaries and heads of departments. (23th January 2007)