International Kite Festival 2006 wraps up
By Yusrin Junaidi

The Brunei Darussalam International Kite Festival 2006 came to a close yesterday with a prize presentation ceremony held at the Dewan Sarmayuda of the Language and Literature Bureau at Jalan Airport Lama.

The guest of honour at the ceremony who was on hand to present the prizes was Pehin Dato Paduka Awg Hj Dani bin Hj Ibrahim, Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The three-day festival which began on August 18 and ended yesterday was organised by the Brunei Darussalam Kite Association.

The event was held in conjunction with His Majesty's 60th birthday celebrations.

Yesterday's function was also attended by competition winners from Brunei Darussalam, Philippines, Cambodia, Thailand and Malaysia, among other guests.

In the Kampong event, Kampong Tungku team emerged champions in the "Berpulut" (kite fighting in groups of three) category, while Kg Mentiri and Kg Gadong took second and third places, respectively. Meanwhile between the Mukims, the Berpulut category was won by Mukim Gadong, followed by Mukim Tamoi in second place and Mukim Mentiri in third.

The "Kikik Bersambung" (interconnected kites) category was won by Ramlle Salleh, while Suhaili Abdullah and Wahab Hj Besar took second and third places respectively.

Ak Syabil Shami Al-Jami was the champion in the individual "Berpulut" (Kite Fighting) category, with Sufian Hj Mat Yaman coming in second place and Pg Hj Ahmad Pg Hj Omar in third.

Suhaili Abdul Jalil meanwhile won the "Kikik Si Julak", while second place was won by Hj Murini Hj Mahrub, followed by Murini Muktal in third.

The "Kikik Siar Manjar" category was won by Azman Marali followed by Ak Ali Pg Hj Ismail in second and Hj Md Daud Tarsad in third.

As for the host's Asean neighbours, Terengganu Malaysia emerged champions of the "Beautiful Rokako" (Berpulut) competition, followed by Labuan District in second place and Bintulu in third.

Meanwhile the team from Johor Malaysia won the Open category in "Beautiful Rokako", while second and third places were won by Labuan and Terengganu respectively. - Borneo Bulletin (22nd August 2006)