Crown Prince at ITB Convocation
By Lyna Mohamad

His Royal Highness Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah, The Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office yesterday attended the 15th Convocation of the Brunei Institute of Technology (ITB) at the International Convention Centre in Berakas.

The Crown Prince was greeted on arrival by Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Lela Dato Seri Setia Awg Hj Abd Rahman Dato Setia Hj Mohd Taib, Minister of Education, Director of ITB, Dr Hj Kassim Hj Daud and executive members of the organising committee.

The morning's event began with a recital of the Al-Quran followed by the welcoming speech by the ITB Director who amongst all noted that ITB graduates received an encouraging response from the public and private sectors because of their much needed skills in the development of the nations' human resources.

The highlight of the event was the presentation of Diplomas to 223 graduates, in addition to 40 from those who graduated last year.

Out of the 223, 68 graduates are from the Business and Management, 30 from Civil Engineering, 27 from Mechanical Engineering 42 from Electrical and Communication Engineering, 40 from Computer and 16 from Information System. The majority of these graduates were from 19th intake batch.

Among the Best Student Awards category were Mohd Azman Hj Omar (Electrical and Communication Engineering), Noor Fadzillah Daimon (Civil Engineering), Muhd Ali Zalludden Abd Latif (Mechanical Engineering), Norzalinah Mohd Noor (Business and Finance), Azrinuddin Hj Gillen (Computer and Information System) and Marlina Ma'aruf (Extra Activities).

Meanwhile recipients of the awards contributed by the private sector were Khairul Azman Khairul Anuar (Excellence in Business Studies - HSBC), Mohayazeed Azraee Mohd Jasni (Best Accounting Student Award- Pricewaterhouse Coopers), Phan Hun Chun (Best Management Student Award- SCB) and Shamri Hj Matali (Best Banking Student Award- BIBD)

In the Civil Engineering category receipients Hj Mohd Farid Faisal Hj Othman (Best Student in Project Management Award - Galfar), Norliha Nordin (Most Progressive Student Award- Hj Adinin & Sons (B) Sdn Bhd).

Computer and Information System recipients are Azrinuddin Hj Gillen (Best Student Award - DST), Hj Azreen Sumardi Hj Sabar (Most Progressive Award- TAIB) and Ahmmad Hartunnoo Suharddy Md Soud (Most Innovative Award - PKBD).

Among the line up of private sector awards include, Electrical and Communication Engineering; Excellent Student Award (Alif Technologies), Best Student in Electrical Power and Building Services Engineering Award (BLNG), Best Student in Communications and Computer Systems Engineering Award (Anati Trading) IET Merit Award ( IET).

Mechanical Engineering; Brunei Shell Best Student Award (BSP), Excellence in Mechanical Engineering Studies - Design Option Award (Total E&P Borneo BV), Excellence in Mechanical Engineering Studies - Maintenance Option Award (Sykt Kejuruteraan Systematik Sdn Bhd) and Best Student in Religious Activities (IQRA). - Borneo Bulletin (21st May 2006)