Sultan at Legislative Council meeting
By Azlan Othman & Lyna Mohammad

His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam yesterday consented to attend the opening ceremony of the first segment of the second session of the State Legislative Council meeting at the International Convention Centre, Berakas.

Also present at the event were HRH Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah, the Crown Prince and Senior Minister at the Prime Minister's Office and HRH Prince Mohamed Bolkiah, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

His Majesty, greeted by a royal salute on arrival, inspected the guard of honour before proceeding to the ceremony.

At the event, members of the Legislative Council pledged their loyalty to His Majesty.

The first group to read the oath included Pehin Dato Awg Hj Abd Rahman, Pehin Dato Dr Ustaz Hj Mohd Zain, Pehin Dato Dr Hj Ahmad, Pehin Dato Hj Abu Bakar, Pehin Dato Hj Adanan, Pehin Dato Hj Suyoi, Pehin Dato Hj Abdullah, Pehin Dato Hj Yahya, and Pehin Dato Hj Abd Rahman.

The next group comprised Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng, Pehin Dato Col (Rtd) Hj Mohd Yasmin, PSN Pg (Dr) Hj Mohd Yusof, Pg Dipa Negara Laila Diraja Pg Hj Abd Momin, Pg Dato Hj Damit, Pehin Goh King Chin, OKMB Hj Othman Uking, Hj Idris Hj Abas, Hj Sulaiman Hj Ahai, Dato Hj Puasa, and Dato Hj Yunos.

Major (Rtd) Hj Abu Bakar Hj Ibrahim was next in line to read the oath, followed by Hj Bakar Mansor, Hj Md Shafiee Ahmad, OKJP Hj Md Taha Abd Rauf, and Hj Sulaiman Hj Ahad.

Prior to leaving the event, His Majesty, Crown Prince and Prince Mohamed consented to a group photo.

The State Legislative Council's first meeting was held on October 10, 1962, after the country's first election on August 30-31, 1962.

Part of the constitutional provisions on general elections were suspended in 1962, and members, from August 28, 1963 onwards, held seats by royal appointment.

The council held its first sitting on December 27, 1983 and was dissolved on February 13, 1984.

The Brunei Legislature was re-opened on September 25, 2004, after a 21-year absence, with its first agenda being the proposed amendment of the 1959 constitution.

The council now houses 29 members after the government dissolved the previous sitting on September 2, 2005. - Borneo Bulletin (16th Mar 2006)