Winners of National Classic Raft Festival
By Hjh Saemah Zulkefli

More than 40 enthusiastic teams took part in the National Classic Raft Festival 2006 that was held in conjunction with His Majesty's 60th Birthday celebration at Belait River.

Present as guest of honour for the BSP Sdn Bhd-sponsored event was the National Celebration Executive Committee's Chairperson, Pehin Dato Seri Setia Hj Adanan, Minister of Home Affairs.

Also in attendance were Pehin Dato Paduka Hj Dani, Deputy Minister of Home Affairs, as well as BSP's Deputy Director, permanent secretaries and district officers.

The Sumpit-Sumpit, Run Baby Run and SCO teams emerged as champions in the pedal-powered, paddle-powered and wind-powered categories respectively.

The award for best women's team went to Vixen Squad, while Pirates of the EEZ was named the most stylish team and Rakit Lubok Jelutong the most innovative team.

The award for most enthusiastic team was presented to Darat Green Turtle, while the most spirited team was the Fire Services and Rescue Department KB, and the best special needs team title went to Darat White Duck.

Aside from this, there were also antique and vintage car shows, a Vespa scooter performance and a carnival. - Borneo Bulletin (14th August 2006)